Touring commences

After 3 weeks of rehearsals we’re out on the road with a new record, a new cast member, a new sound man, a new stage manager and more ramblings from me. You lucky munchkins.

We spluttered off the line (like Marco Melandri at last weeks motoGP) at Northumbria students union bar. It is the worst sounding room in the universe. Concrete everywhere and not a warm tone to be had, horrible. I was wandering why all your faces looked so pained. It was, I was reliably informed, a wall of noise. Hey ho, nobody’s fault but the person who designed a room for the purposes of amplified entertainment in a concrete box. It’s done, it’s gone, lets move on. I hope you all come back for the proper tour to hear how good it should sound.

We have a new tour personage… another Dean. Dean Deavall. We’ve nicknamed him CC. If anyone is old enough to know where that comes from I’ll put them on the guest list for one of the shows in the autumn. He’s the spitting image of Gavin Peacock too. Formerly of Spider Simpson among others, he’s on keyboards and samples which means we are playing fully live for the first time since I joined. No sequencers anymore. Hooray! Welcome to the topsy turvy world of Feeder Mr Keys.

19 Responses to “Touring commences”

  1. Vicci Holmes Says:

    So as the answer’s CC Deville from the mighty Poison are you gonna sort me out with guest list for the next tour??

    See you in Manchester tonight ;)

  2. I really want to say his nickname is after Captain Chaos in the Canonball run.. please say i’m right!!

  3. Hi Mark, with reference to CC – you said

    “If anyone is old enough to know where that comes from I’ll put them on the guest list for one of the shows in the autumn.”

    I’m old enough :P (36 eeek) It’s a clever play on words referring to CC DeVille – the Poison guitarist. DeVille…Deavall….I get it :)

    Anyway I’m probably about the hundredth (thousandth?) reply so I won’t get my hopes up but I would LOVE tickets if they happen to be available. I was at the Brighton gig on Tuesday, I got stuck behind a pillar a bit (weird room design!) so my view wasn’t so great but the sound was AWESOME.

    Peace, love and respect to all the boys, and a big welcome to CC

    Silverlise

  4. :) nice one Mark, the gig at the Birmingham Barfly was amazing, kudos to you guys, best night of my life easily, and my most favourite Feeder gig so far!

    “Dean Deavall. We’ve nicknamed him CC. If anyone is old enough to know where that comes from I’ll put them on the guest list for one of the shows in the autumn.”
    is the nickname related to ‘See See Rider Blues’, also known as ‘C.C. Rider’, ‘See See Rider’, etc, the traditional 12-bar-blues song? ;) if it is, i’d be ecstatic to be on the guest list! give me a shout!

  5. ..forgot to add, good luck with the rest of the tour!
    i can’t wait to hear about the next tour you’ve got lined up, and cannot wait to get my mitts on Silent Cry!
    :) xooxx much love to you guys and thanks for the best night of the year so far!

  6. Did you nickname him CC after C.C. DeVille from Poison? As DeVille sounds like Deavall. If so, you owe me a guestlist place, Mr. Richardson.

    Sounded amazing at Sheffield by the way. Probably the strongest I’ve ever heard the band. Keep up the brilliant work- can’t wait for the new album.

  7. Colin Meredith Says:

    Mark
    Glad the tour went well, hope you make it back to Belfast soon (I was the guy who made you sign all the Little Angels / Blow / Skunk Anansie stuff last time)

    Going for CC to be named after CC “Deville” from Poison !!
    Cheers
    C

  8. Rachel Tucker Says:

    It’s great to see you guys live again – I’ve really missed the high of seeing you all play!

    Last night in Manchester was an amazing gig, looking forward to the October ones… which brings me nicely on to Dean Deavall… nicknamed after CC Deville the guitarist from Poison by any chance? I’d love to get on a guest list for one of the October dates, so i’ll be keeping me fingers crossed that I’m right!

    Oh, “Insomnia” last night was an amazing!

  9. I’m old enough to remember where the CC nickname comes from! I’m bloody ancient i am! ( 40 in july *sniff* )
    anyway….C.C DeVille from Poison, am i correct? crikey, i’m actually embarrassed that i know that! personally i never could stand them, but still, am i right? is it a play on words with their surnames? I dont know of any other CC references that would be from “the olden days” lol

  10. Re the Newcastle gig, we had been to Northumbria Uni the previous Sunday to watch Dirty Pretty Things and the setup was loads better then, ( apparently it was the uni’s nightclub). We were hoping it would be the same venue for Feeder.

    However, regardless of the fact that the acoustics were terrible, you still rocked ,and it was cool to see you in such a cosy venue. All excited for the main tour, please come back to Newcastle and play in a bigger box this time!!

  11. Eddie Webb Says:

    As one of your older fans, 52, I’ve just had one of the best weekends of my life. Feeder at the Leadmill where they played “My Perfect Day” for the first time in ages followed by the League 1 play-off at Wembley the following day. Shame about the result but an unforgetable weekend. Many thanks!!

  12. Fantastic gigs!

    Was good to chat to you briefly about your bikes on Saturday too Mark!

    As for the question of where Dean “C.C.” Deavall, C.C Deville played lead guitar and sang backing vocals for the band Poison.

    Hope that the promo work for Silent Cry goes as well as the tour dates.

  13. ..ah, i wasn’t old enough to get the C.C. Deville one.
    not to worry! :)

  14. Hey, I would just like to say you are amazing on the DRUMS :D, I was at the leadmill last month and i thought you guys where awesome. Now i think i may kno what the CC stands for… it isn’t Cool Cat from the Warner Bros. Cartoons of the 1960′s!? i mean the both look kwl :) haha.

    John

  15. rock the fox Says:

    I THOUGHT THAT THE NEW FELLA ON KEYS LOOKED MORE LIKE THE DUDE OUT OF “FRANKIE GOES TO HOLLYWOOD”
    YOU KNOW THE ONE WHO WAS CAUGHT WITH HIS W*** UP SOMEONES B**
    WHAT YOU THINK?

  16. You’re doing an amazing job CC!, was really cool to meet you and have a chat with my friends and I after Bristol about SpiderSimpson :), such a shame Polydor rejected your album, cos your songs are great!. Was great to finally meet you at Cardiff, that has to be my second fave venue on the tour, with Bristol first. As for the gigs themselves, it’s VERY hard to pick a fave.

    From Marcus :-).

  17. he’ll always be “The Greek” to me.

  18. That’ll be two tickets for Vicci Holmes as you were the first. Get in touch with Candida and we’ll see you in October. Well done!

    candida@feederweb.com

  19. Vicci Holmes Says:

    And the funny thing is, I never ever thought to check back to see if I actually won tickets! Thanks Mark! See you in Crewe on the 14th Feb…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

